I’ll Get Back to You

Featured Coffee – Ink and Paint

There’s nothing wrong with not knowing the answer; however, there’s a lot wrong with just making up an answer.

It’s okay to say, “I’ll research it and get back to you,” or “I have to check with (fill in the blank) and get back to you.”  Just make sure you follow through.

Of course, you probably won’t have the opportunity to get back to the interviewer during an interview.  The best response in that situation is to be honest, and admit that you’re “not familiar with” or “not expert in” the area.

Also, make sure you are not inflating your experience on your resume.  Either you have experience or expertise in the area, or you don’t.

If you claim to be an expert, you should know the answers. 

So, where is this coming from? Allow me to share.

I shared part of this story in Egotism is a Powerful Drug

Well, the story continues. 

She had to meet with a group of physicians.  She asked me to attend the meeting with her because she was nervous, so I went for moral support and to evaluate her performance.

It didn’t go well because she could not answer the basic questions, and I had to take over the session.  Afterward, she admitted that she was not prepared to do physician education because she did not have expertise in the subject matter.

This experience was growth for her.  It was a humbling experience for her, and unfortunately, it was what she needed to let go of her ego and accept help and guidance from her team.